The Pardy Effect (Or: The Gutless Chumps That Make Up Canada’s Comedians)

CBC – A discrimination complaint before the British Columbia Human Rights Tribunal has cast a chill over stand-up comics in the Lower Mainland, a comedy club manager says….

“I go out and I frequent rooms in the city because that’s how I find my talent. And I would say that people who are performing in rooms on a regular basis are a little bit more careful about their interaction with the crowd.

“I know that comics who have usually taken an antagonistic approach with the crowd are a little bit more — they sugar-coat their words now.”

Leave a Reply

