Chow Down

Toronto Star – Tens of thousands of people on welfare who receive a special diet allowance to help them manage medical conditions may see more money from Queen’s Park as a result of a recent Ontario Human Rights Tribunal ruling…

As a result of the decision, the tribunal ordered the province to increase the allowance for the lead complainants retroactive to the date they first became eligible. And it gave the government three months to boost benefits for anyone receiving the special diet allowance with the same medical conditions…

“After my heart attack in 2003, I found out I wasn’t putting the right food in my diet. And then I discovered I didn’t have enough money to buy those foods,” she said.

Leave a Reply

